Little Kickers Review – Can she kick it?

We recently enrolled Georgia into a football club for toddlers called Little Kickers and she is loving it…

Little Kickers Review - Not just for Boys!

Little Kickers isn’t just for boys and tomboys

At 2, my daughter loves playing with her dolls and in her kitchen. In that respect, she’s a ‘typical’ girl. But more important than that, she’s smart, funny and loves to run around. She’s her own person.

So why did I choose a Little Kickers class for her to join when she could have gone to ballet, or swimming?

I chose Little Kickers for Georgia to join as I wanted her to start a club where she could play a sport and do something at the weekend that didn’t involve boring grown up things.

The mum guilt was coming down hard and fast as we spend most of the weekend seemingly doing chores.

To me, it didn’t matter that it was football. I didn’t choose it because it’s going against the grain, to show how ‘gender neutral’ I am as a parent, or because my husband is one of those crazy fools that likes watching football.

No, I picked Little Kickers because SHE likes kicking footballs.

I’m not gender neutral, I’m just a mum wanting the best for my daughter

It doesn’t really matter what I think about football. That I don’t really care if Spurs lose against Arsenal and that you’ll never find me yelling at the TV unless it’s the Crystal Maze. What matters to me is giving my daughter opportunities. If she likes something, I want to enable her to try it and do her best.

I don’t want to ever hear someone say that she can’t or shouldn’t do something because she’s a girl (unless it’s peeing while standing up… that’s just physics).

For me, it also selfishly means that as she goes with daddy, that I get to go to ParkRun and have some time to myself! It’s time that I’d otherwise feel a bit guilty about doing my own thing.

One of the main reasons I chose Little Kickers (rather than any other football club), was that the age range of the classes weren’t too intimidating. Unlike other local clubs I’d looked into, this one didn’t just have an ‘under 5’s – where my petite 2 year old girl would be swamped by bigger children. No. Instead, they have a much smaller age range, no bigger than a year at this age.

This also helps the classes to focus on different, age appropriate activities.

What do they do at Little Kickers (other than kick a ball)?

As well as looking adorable in the kit, each week the kids learn basic football skills as well as develop great people skills.

I cannot recommend Little Kickers enough for these extra skills. Little Kickers is about so much more than just learning how to play football.

Listening:

So far, they’ve helped Georgia to stop, listen to instructions and then be able to carry out basic tasks. Sure she listened well enough before – but not quite to the same level as she hadn’t been practicing.

Self confidence:

It’s also been a great confidence boost as she’s being challenged in a new environment. The look of sheer pride when she does something right and gets a stamp just makes your heart melt.

 

Patience:

Importantly, Little Kickers also teaches her patience. I don’t know any parents who would say that their kids don’t need to learn a bit more patience (and a few adults too!).

Imagination:

As for the format of the lessons, each lesson, the toddlers pretend that they are different things – sometimes it’s cars, sometimes it’s astronauts or dinosaurs. You never know… they may one day pretend to be mermaids and mermen. They use the scenarios to ask the children to do different things – whether that’s to find the dinosaur eggs, drive around the roundabout or jumping over planets.

Each involve ball control, balance, co-ordination and a lot of fun.

She loves Little Kickers so much that she asks when she’s going again from the Tuesday after her class to the Saturday! It’s also a hardship to get her to take off her football kit and into normal clothes for the rest of the day without some form of battle.

Can she kick it?

It doesn’t phase me that there’s only two other girls in her class – there are about 3 boys to every girl at the minute. That doesn’t stop her having fun and didn’t put me off her joining.

But I’d like to see that change.

There’s no reason why more girls shouldn’t join and I’d actively encourage girls to have a go!

Little Kickers isn’t just for boys, it’s for kids who want to have fun.

Follow:

27 Comments

  1. October 18, 2017 / 7:08 am

    This is the cutest thing I’ve ever heard of!!! #fortheloveofBLOG

  2. October 18, 2017 / 9:41 am

    This sounds so great , both my daughter would have loved this , think kicking a ball is instinctive regardless of gender!! How cute!! #fortheloveofBLOG

  3. October 18, 2017 / 10:50 am

    My eldest loved little kickers and there were always girls in the class. they had a super time as who does not love kicking a ball about and having fun #fortheloveofBLOG

  4. October 18, 2017 / 11:29 am

    Oh I agree…Anything that gets kids outdoors and enjoying playing is great! Like you say, it doesn’t matter if it’s ballet, football or mini gym. #fortheloveofBLOG

  5. October 18, 2017 / 11:58 am

    That sounds great – I had no idea there were sports clubs for kids that young! I’m not sure if my two-year-old would be coordinated enough for it, but I like the idea of something that teaches listening and patience – both things she could improve on! #fortheloveofBLOG

  6. October 18, 2017 / 1:16 pm

    Sounds like she’s having a great time 🙂 #fortheloveofblog

  7. October 18, 2017 / 3:18 pm

    This is great, I’ve been thinking about enrolling my daughter in a football school as it would be nice for her dad to take her to something. Great you’ve listed all the extra benefits too. Thankyou #fortheloveofBLOG

  8. October 18, 2017 / 4:06 pm

    I LOVE this! I haven’t seen a football club, for toddlers, where I live. I love the idea of this and I think it’s cute that your daughter is involved in this so early! #fortheloveofBLOG

  9. October 18, 2017 / 4:28 pm

    Hi, this sounds like a great idea learning coordination and other skills whilst getting exercise. Gender doesnt really come in to it #fortheloveofBLOG

  10. October 18, 2017 / 7:20 pm

    I’m really surprised Little Kickers is seen as a boys thing – the ad here has girls on it. Mind you all sport is unisex here until it’s graded level (around 7)…Glad she likes it.

  11. October 18, 2017 / 7:20 pm

    I’m really surprised Little Kickers is seen as a boys thing – the ad here has girls on it. Mind you all sport is unisex here until it’s graded level (around 7)…Glad she likes it.

  12. October 18, 2017 / 7:47 pm

    Ah I heard of little kickers just as we were leaving London. I’m sad now we missed out on such a fab class! I must look for something similar in Ireland. It sounds fab and something I think would of really helped my eldest boy. If I had girls I wouldn’t think twice about sending them to a football class if they wanted to go. Don’t feel guilty for heading off to your Park Run – Enjoy!! #fortheloveofBLOG

  13. October 18, 2017 / 8:23 pm

    I’m pretty sure my 2-year-old niece did something similar and she loved it! It’s great for their coordination at this age. #fortheloveofblog

  14. October 18, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    This sounds absolutely lovely. The small age ranges are certainly appealing as is he teaching of listening skills!! #fortheloveofBLOG

  15. October 19, 2017 / 10:49 am

    I don’t think there are such things as boys activities or girls activities any more. I’m not one for all this gender neutrality stuff, they are different but when it comes to activities boys and girls can do whatever they enjoy. Little kickers sounds great x
    #fortheloveofblog

  16. October 19, 2017 / 11:02 am

    Ooh this is great timing as we are just considering a football club for J. He loves to kick a ball and it will give him a club for daddy to take him to at the weekend. We looked at Little Kickers but were worried about the upfront costs compared to PAYG clubs. J is very shy so we are worried he may find it too overwhelming. However, your post makes it sound fab so we may reconsider! Thanks. #fortheloveofBLOG

  17. The Mummy Bubble
    October 19, 2017 / 2:54 pm

    I think this is great. I’m really keen to let my girls try loads of different activities and hobbies and then let them decide what they really love doing for themselves. Football, golf, tennis, stamp collecting, whatever. I hope they don’t demand ponies though, not sure my budget can stretch to that. Fab review, hadn’t heard of little kickers before x #fortheloveofblog

  18. October 19, 2017 / 6:34 pm

    This sounds very cool. I totally agree; whatever they’re in to is what we should be encouraging. I have to say, Amelia hasn’t shown any interest in sports whatsoever, but Wills already yells “Ba” whenever he sees a ball and loves a god kick about. #fortheloveofBLOG

  19. October 19, 2017 / 6:49 pm

    This sounds great. I wish we had a club like that near here, I’m sure my daughter would love it x
    #fortheloveofBLOG

  20. October 19, 2017 / 8:34 pm

    This sounds really good- I like the idea of a smaller age range in the classes. #fortheloveofBLOG

  21. October 19, 2017 / 10:50 pm

    Now our little one’s attention span is more than 2 minutes we should really look into this one for him as he always loves the idea of getting involved in football! Sounds great! #fortheloveofBLOG

  22. October 20, 2017 / 10:42 am

    I think it is great there is an activity like this for younger kids. And who cares if its for boys and girls as long as they enjoy going.
    #fortheloveofBLOG

  23. October 23, 2017 / 3:17 pm

    My eldest would love doing this too I imagine. One of her favourite tv programmes has a football theme to it. Certainly great on a number of levels and wearing them out. #fortheloveofBLOG

  24. October 25, 2017 / 9:56 am

    I’ve not heard of Little Kickers, but i’m all for any sport for any child that encourages motor skills and confidence!! #fortheloveofBLOG

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *